The Final Countdown !

Well, here I am on a beautiful Tuesday morning, sitting in my kitchen and surrounded by hiking gear and food. LOTS of food! We are in the final days of preparation, and I’m not sure if it’s anticipation or nervousness I’m feeling. Perhaps both.

I’m still toying with the access on this blog. So if you are reading this before I leave, please bear with me as I tweak things – I am trying to make it easy for you but I’m somewhat limited in my technical knowledge of wordpress.

But, for now, here is today’s update:

We have all resupply boxes pretty much complete except for additional lunches. Not sure how I overlooked that vital part, but better to catch it now! We have a total of 5 weeks’ worth of food – we are carrying one full week at a time, for 3 people. Currently one week is about 25 pounds for all 3 of us.

I have been packing and re-packing our clothes. We are each carrying 2 base layers (one for sleeping in, the other for wearing during the day if needed), convertible hike pants, short sleeve dri-fit, long sleeve dri-fit, cool weather jacket, cool weather hat, gloves, hiking hat, 2 pairs of socks, 2 pairs of underwear, a hiking hat, rain pants, rain jacket, and bug net.  All of that comes to about 2 1/2 pounds.

Although I do not have pictures at this time (I’m in a hurry at the moment), I will post some soon of our gear and resupply boxes.

If you’re ever wondering as to the weather on the trail – here is a great link to trail-specific conditions. The Weather Channel reported today that there would be “a foot” of snow in the southern Appalachians this week. So far I hadn’t seen that on the trail forecast.

We shall see!

2 thoughts on “The Final Countdown !

Leave a Reply

