Made to be Awesome, 08/08/16

Happy Monday! Today we started off with this great clip, there is no way you can watch this video and NOT be motivated.

Perhaps you can guess our topic for today – teamwork (I’m sure over the course of August you will see many variations on this topic!). One of the challenges I’m sure many families face is everyone being on the same team, and functioning together towards a common goal. In our house, today is our first day back at school after summer vacation. We homeschool, and I can assure we have “those” mornings when everyone is just in a mood. And I don’t mean a good mood. When that happens, it’s hard to feel like you’re part of a team.

Today was one of those days for us. But, I replayed Kid President and am feeling better and more motivated. As I write this, the children are even in a better mood, so Monday has been saved!

One of my favorite lines from the clip is, “I’m on your team, be on my team!” According to special-dictionary.com, there is an old Zambian Proverb, “When you run alone, you run fast. When you run together, you run far.”

For our family, it’s extremely important that everyone be on the same team, and run together. Obviously, as Christians we must be on the same team and support/encourage each other for the Ultimate Goal. On a practical, day-to-day level, though, teamwork is vital. As I mentioned, we homeschool, and we live on a farm…in order for us to function, and do what needs to be done, everyone has to do their part and work as part of the team. One person can’t do it all. No matter if you homeschool or live on a farm, I’d expect this to be true in every household.

The other favorite part is his commentary on the Road Less Taken – “It hurt, man! Rock! thorns! glass!”  The road to being awesome doesn’t come easy. If it were easy, everyone would do it! For us, the most easy parallel to make is the road to get our black belts. It took years for each of us to reach that goal. If it were easy, everyone would be walking around with one. When things get difficult (and they will/do), it’s easy to get caught up in the pain of the rocks, thorns, and glass. But, staying focused on the ultimate goal is what keeps me going…and I totally get that’s hard sometimes. I had a big section hike of the Appalachian Trail planned earlier this year, and it was cut short by different factors. I was really upset and distracted by the temporary pain of the metaphorical rocks, thorns, and glass. However, in time I was able to reset myself and am now re-focused on the goal again. I didn’t do that alone, however, it was my TEAM that helped me get to that point.

We were made to be AWESOME – together!

Who is on your team? Whose team are YOU on?!

Another great video over at Leadership For Kids; this one is a reminder of the Ultimate Team that we are on!

Have a great Monday!

©Stacy DeSmet

 

Leave a Reply

