How Do I Keep My Momentum

stacyandi2
Let’s face it; we all have days where we think life will not get better. They’re dark days and can be extremely depressing. When we struggle to pick ourselves back up and see the good in life it can be a daunting task if you don’t have a good support system. We’ve all been there. Whether we got there from a recent break up, loss of a job or loved one, or just unexpected expenses – it happens to everyone. To keep your momentum and push through that wall can be difficult if you don’t have the right people in your life.

I’m fortunate to have an inner circle like no other. Blessed actually. But it wasn’t always like that. There was a time I felt like I had no real friends, just acquaintances. My family was my support system. That can be good but it can also be bad when that support system goes away. At 41 I find myself enjoying my friendships and actually putting the effort into relationships for the first time in a long time. And the rewards I reap are never ending.

When things seem to be falling apart for me I know I can go to my friends and they will pick me up, dust me off, and set me back on the right path. It’s a great feeling to know they care about my well being and not their own agenda. Frankly at our age there should be no agendas. We should be secure in who we are and where we are going, but that doesn’t always happen.
I don’t have many friends, but a select few who impact my life and inspire me. We have the best times together even if it’s doing nothing but enjoying each other’s companies. But the one friendship that I could not live without is my friendship with Stacy. After years of not speaking due to a silly high school argument, we reconnected thanks to the joy of social networking. The impact that she has made in my life the past several years has been great.

All though she lives 10 hours away, she is always a phone call, email, or a text away. She doesn’t always agree with me and yes, we need those people in our lives. Someone who cares enough about us to be honest and sometimes blunt regardless of our feelings. Let’s face it, we all need a good ass kicking from time to time and she is excellent at doing so.

She knows my goals, hopes, and dreams and she is not afraid to point out to me if I’m not on the right track. There is no nastiness to her words, but merely a good pep talk. She helps me see me for who I am and believes in me for all that I want and all that I have accomplished so far. She is my personal cheerleader and let’s be honest, who wouldn’t want a personal cheerleader? We need to surround ourselves with people who uplift us, not tear us down. After all, we are who we spend time with. If you’re friends are not supporting you with tough love and encouragement, it’s time for you to seek new friends. Stepping outside of your comfort zone is hard, but would you rather wallow in sadness and lose your momentum in living the life that you want.

It’s ok to have days where you aren’t happy with yourself or even your life. But you need to continue and believe that tomorrow will be better and the next day will be even better. Make sure your inner circle believes that as well. Stacy does that for me and I hope I do that for her as well. We all should have a Stacy in our life!!

Leave a comment